St. Paul’s Parish
One of the most charming roads in St. Paul’s Parish is Chapel Road so named because of Christ St. Paul’s Episcopal Church’s two historic churches, a new sanctuary and St. Paul’s Cemetery. The oldest church on Chapel Road was built in 1907 and the little white Spanish or Mission style church was built in 1949. In 2008, due to the growth of the church’s membership, the new church was built across the street from the cemetery and the two historic churches. The new Byzantine style church seats 300+ and includes a huge interior cross built from the timbers of the former St. Paul’s High School. Chapel Road (only a mile long and connects HWY 162 and Toogoodoo Road) long has been enjoyed by locals going to church, weddings, funerals, receptions, Easter egg hunts and other church events. Chapel Road was once known as Dairy Road. Attendance at the little white church during Christmas and Easter is well remembered because small church was packed with people with standing room only. St. Paul’s Cemetery is thought to be one of the loveliest cemeteries in South Carolina. It is shaded by giant oak trees laden with Spanish moss. It is a watercolor in the making at springtime with the beautiful azaleas. The cemetery is on the site of a former plantation, owned by Robert Yonge for whom Yonges Island is named.
Written by Realtor Ron Rash (a St. Paul’s Parish Native)